You’ve Heard of Advent Calendars… So How About an Advent Bookcase? :) #SeasonsReadings

Standard

blog advent calendar

It’s been a while, but I’m back! I hope everyone’s well and that you are all enjoying the countdown to yuletide. I came across this idea online of creating an advent calendar, but for books – under the hashtag #SeasonsReadings – and so I thought I’d give it a try!

So, here are my recommendations for every day of December – my very own advent bookcase!


1. Iconic First Line

I choose Tom Robbins’ opening to Still Life With Woodpecker: “If this typewriter can’t do it, then fuck it, it can’t be done.”

2. Last Read

The last book I finished was Margaret Atwood’s MaddAddam. I’m currently reading Titus Groan by Mervyn Peake. Take your pick!

3. On My Christmas List

Too many to list! Erm, OK, I choose The King in Yellow by Robert W. Chambers.

4. For Chilly Nights

Ooh, something a bit unnerving, like The Shining by Stephen King. Something that makes your heart flutter with fear every time the wind blows.

5. Quintessentially British

The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde. English wit at its finest.

6. Everyone Should Read

Animal Farm by George Orwell. Its representation of politics gets more relevant by the day!

7. Childhood Favourite

If we’re talking early childhood, then something like the fairy tales of Hans Christian Andersen, or The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis. However, once I got my adult library card aged 12, I got a taste for horror… (I was a weird child.)

8. It’s A Mystery!

I’m not massively into mystery novels, but I do like Raymond Chandler’s detective novels, such as The Long Goodbye… does that count?

9. I Judged This Book By Its Cover

The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling. I figure I wouldn’t enjoy the books as they’d be childish… thank goodness my sister talked me out of that!

10. Latest Purchase

My last book purchase was Of Love and Other Demons by Gabriel Garcia Marquez – I bought it as a birthday present for my sister.

11. Christmas Classic

The ;Winter Story’ in Bramley Hedge, illustrated by Jill Barklem. Don’t know if it qualifies as a ‘classic’, but I certainly loved it as a child If not, then a bit of ‘A Christmas Carol’ by Charles Dickens should do the trick!

12. Book of Poems

I have a collection of W.H. Auden’s work of which I am rather fond…

13. Stocking Filler

Party of One: The Loner’s Manifesto by A.S. Rufus, the Postsecret compilation by Frank Warren, or Stoned, Naked, and Looking Through My Neighbour’s Window by Gabriel Jeffrey are all good ones.

14. Read at School

Lord of the Flies by William Golding – not actually on the reading list for my classes, but it was recommended by my favourite English teacher. If that doesn’t count, then I choose Macbeth by (of course) the great Bard himself, William Shakespeare.

15. Favourite Cover

My copy of The Illuminated Works of William Blake has one of his works in large print across the front cover – I absolutely love it; the colours, the combination, just… everything. I’ve even hugged it a couple of times. 🙂

16. For Someone I Love

For this, I choose The Fault In OUr Stars by John Green… my mother and sister are still getting over the ending.

17. Funny Read

Douglas Adams’ Hitchhikers’ Guide to the Galaxy made me actually laugh out loud. Not in the ‘lol’ sense… I mean I really did laugh; made noise and everything. It was a beautiful thing 😉

18. Massive Tome

You could kill someone with a hardcover copy of The Stand (by Stephen King). If that won’t do it, try a little Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky – it’s a workout just lifting the book!

19. Travelling Home

I like getting stuck into a book I already know and love when travelling away from home, such as Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick.

20. Set Where I Live

Quite a few books are actually set where I live – Nottinghamshire’s home to D.H. Lawrence, and so Sons and Lovers and Lady Chatterley’s Lover are both set here. The Killing Jar by Nicola Monaghan is set in Nottingham, too, as is Ruth Rendell’s To Fear a Painted Devil.

21. To Be Read

The Miracle Inspector by Helen Smith. Haven’t gotten around to reading it yet, but have heard great things about it!

22. Favourite Festive Scene

How The Grinch Stole Christmas by Dr. Seuss – c’mon, admit it, you all love it when the Grinch realises he loves the festivities really!

23. The Best Present

My sister always buys me a Stephen King book for Christmas – it’s become a bit of a tradition. My favourite of the ones she’s bought for me is probably Hearts in Atlantis.

24. For Father Christmas

Hmmm… what would Father Christmas like to read? Who knows?! For my father this Christmas, I plan on getting him started on George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series… maybe ol’ St. Nick would like those?

25. Under The Tree

I have my fingers crossed for Batman: The Dark Knight Strikes Back by Frank Miller being under the tree for me this year! We will have to wait and see though…


So, there’s my suggestions for this year’s #SeasonsReadings…. what are yours? 🙂


6 thoughts on “You’ve Heard of Advent Calendars… So How About an Advent Bookcase? :) #SeasonsReadings

Leave a Reply

