‘Psock 23, from the Book of Laundry’ (a parody)

Standard

Psock 23, from the Book of Laundry

 

In the name of the Foot
and the Sole
and the Toe with a Hole.

(Amen.)

Forgive me, Sock for I have sinned.

I made offerings of your souls
your heels, toes and holes
to appease the Great Wash-God.

I have transformed you
into mismatched,
colour-coded zombies.

Carried generations
to your graves
astride my feet.

Though your emptiness
is as insignificant
as human misery

You bestow faith in me
that I will lead you
to your salvation.

As I walk through the shadow
of the valley of threads
I fear no blister for thou art with me.

You protect the toes below me
in the dark days of deep puddles
and raindrops runneth over.

3 thoughts on “‘Psock 23, from the Book of Laundry’ (a parody)

Leave a Reply

